I LOVE makeup and all things beauty. I love skincare, doing my makeup, buying beauty products, checking out reviews, reading blogs, and researching new looks on Instagram. But some of those looks, while gorgeous, to me just look fake. I don’t see how someone can go about their daily life with that much crap on their face. I’m talking the people who have matte foundation, powder, color corrector and concealer, full contour, blush, bronzer, and highlight. All this on top of an eye look and lipstick. Yeah those pics look insanely gorgeousand that skin appears flawless, but I always feel that they would look a little weird off camera. 

Even my toned down version seemed like a lot to me. I would do foundation, conceal problem areas, light blush, bronzer, and highlighter. And when I would look at myself in the mirror with my face, eyes, and lips done, it started to look like I was wearing a lot of makeup. The last thing I wanted to look was like my face was suffocating. 

Now, I am a huge fan of doing your makeup how you want to do it and not like someone else tells you to. If you want to wear every product in Sephora on your face, go for it. But I got tired of the over abundance. So this morning I chucked all my blushes and bronzers straight into the trash. Blush was a product I took a while to figure out anyway, and it never fully felt like me. I even tossed my color corrector and concealer. If I can’t cover it with foundation then too bad. People have flaws; big deal. 

My new routine is just foundation with a little highlighter for a slightly dewy glow. This feels so much lighter and looks way more real for work. When I have less products on my skin, I feel like I can put more boldness into my eye and lip looks for work. Maybe one day I’ll think about bringing bronzer back into the game. But as for blush, pretty sure that’s gone forever. 

Leave a Reply

