I keep forgetting how much I love this palette; I don’t use it as often as some of my others because so many of the colors are neutrals and I find playing with darks and brights to be so much more fun. But I’ve been reaching for it a lot the last couple of weeks, so I finally decided it deserved it’s own 5 Days 5 Looks.

Day 1

IMG_3225

This looks was an obvious choice for me during this week because this is pretty much my default look with this palette – more often than not, when I grab the Gwen Stefani palette, I do this exact look. The reason is because it’s easy, dark, and edgy while still being neutral enough for work; the dark brown in perfectly matte without being too heavy, and the liner color is my favorite ever. Plus, whenever I do this look, Boyfriend tells me I look nice, so that’s a factor too.

Colors used:
Blonde (highlight)
Punk (lid)
Blackout (liner)

Lips: Urban Decay Vice Lipstick in Sheer Rapture

IMG_3230

Today I had a new lipstick I really wanted to play with, so I went subtle on the eyes. Even though the lipstick kind of washes me out and looks a little like corpse lips, I think it looks super cool once it starts to fade in the center – kind of like ombre lips, and I think I really like it. I also went with grey eyeliner instead of black. If you don’t know the amazingness of grey liner here it is: it’s not as harsh as black but not as expected as brown, it’s amazing.

Colors used:
Bathwater (highlight)
Baby (lid)
Anaheim (crease)
Serious (liner)

Lips: Bite Beauty Amuse Bouche Lipstick in Thistle

Day 3

IMG_3234

I tried a color from the palette today that I haven’t used before – Harijuku, a pink. I thought it was going to be brighter and more bubblegum colored, but it took several layers just to get to the look you see here. I also ran out of good eyeliner colors after yesterday, so I cheated and reused the color on my lids in Day 1 as a liner. Frankly, I think I like it better covering the lid. Since the eyes were so pink, I didn’t want to do pink lips, so I went with one that is a little brownish.

Colors used:
Skimp (highlight)
Harajunku (lid)
Punk (liner)

Lips: Urban Decay Vice lipstick in Amulet

Day 4

IMG_3237

Today I had to drop my boyfriend off at the airport at 5am, and then tried to go back to sleep for a little bit, waking up at the last possible minute to get to work. So my hair was kind of meh today, but I like the makeup look. I re-used eyeliner colors again, going with grey because the gold eyeshadow turned out a little more yellow than I expected, and the thought of using black and yellow just reminded me too much of a bumblebee.

Colors used:
Pop (highlight)
1987 (lid)
Zone (crease)
Serious (liner)

Lips: Buxom Big & Sexy lipstick in Sinful Cinnamon

Day 4

IMG_3239

Friday is dress down day at work. I also take that to mean I can do more colorful makeup. Today’s look isn’t too colorful, just navy blue. I thought it was going to be brighter than it was, but I really liked it. I smudged blue around my lashline and then used another brush to blend the color along the top lashed upwards till it blended a bit into the neutral base I used. Another thing you might notice about this look that I don’t usually do is I lined the waterline. I try to avoid that, as it’s not good for the eyes, but this look kind of needed it. The reason you shouldn’t really line the waterline is that makeup particles can work their way into the eye and cause infections (ew). If you insist on lining your eye there anyway, opt for a pencil rather than liquid or gel – it is less likely to run when the eyes water. Also, use a pencil especially formulated for use at the waterline (Urban Decay makes a pretty good one).

Colors used:
Steady (highlight)
Stark (lid)
Danger (lashline)

Lips: Urban Decay Vice lipstick in Seismic

 

3 thoughts on “5 Days 5 Looks – Urban Decay Gwen Stefani Palette

Leave a Reply

