Let’s just take a short detour from the fashion and beauty focus that this blog has been in, and talk about one of my other favorite things: food. I had kind of a bad day today and was really feeling the comfort food. In my opinion, homemade bread products are great comfort food. Maybe it’s just the act of baking it: between how long it takes and all the kneading you have to do to the dough it just zaps the stress right out of you. Plus, who can really be stressed when your nose is filled with the scent of bread baking? It’s almost how aromatherapy works, just not the scents they choose.

I didn’t want to just make a loaf of bread. That’s boring (at least for what I wanted out of it). I wanted something special. So, I made pretzel rolls. This was not my first time making these, and I am going to brag and say I do a pretty darn good job of it. There was also the fact that spring is upon us, soon to be summer. My house doesn’t have air conditioning, so baking is pretty much off limits during the hotter months and I wanted to get it out of my system now.

PretzelRolls1

I gathered all the ingredients. This one is interesting because you do use a lager in the mix, which is the only reason I keep it in the house as neither Boyfriend or I drink it. You also do not use regular all purpose flour; bread flour is called for. This is also the only recipe so far that I make with bread flour. Thankfully, I make these enough that keeping special flour on hand for just one recipe isn’t completely ridiculous.

PretzelRolls2

Then I mixed everything together. I used my Kitchenaid for this, making the process so much easier. Getting me a Kitchenaid for Christmas was my mom’s best idea from the past few holidays (the ice cream maker attachment she got me for it was a pretty good one too). The recipe for these delicious treats also came from a Kitchenaid cookbook I got through iBooks.

PretzelRolls3

After everything gets mixed together you form it into a ball-ish shape, then put it into a greased bowl and let it rise for a while.

PretzelRolls4

After it rises the first time, they get shaped into balls and have to rise again. Hey, at least they’re actually starting to look like rolls now!

PretzelRolls5

While they’re rising the second time, you start boiling a pot of baking soda and water. When it’s boiling and they finish rising, you cook them for a couple minutes, then place on a towel.

PretzelRolls6

Next you put them on a pan, cut an X in the top, and sprinkle with salt. The ones on the bottom got a little too salty – oops. Then bake.

PretzelRolls7

Yay yummy pretzel rolls!

Recipe below is from the KitchenAid Stand Mixer Attachment Recipes book.

IMG_2842 (1)

 

 

Leave a Reply

